Make a Reservation
View More

Reviews

Read Reviews (111)
(
4.41/5
) based on
111
reviews.

by Caza on Nov 22 2016 10:59

Excellent stay with a superb dinner in Kelly's next door. Leisure center was closed for renovations but apart from that it was a top stay with very friendly staff!
 
 
 
 
 

by Maura on Nov 14 2016 22:03

Brilliant stay for the week. Spotlessly clean, warm, friendly inviting and quiet hotel. Friendly efficient helpful staff, Lovely bar food and breakfasts. Great facilities. Very convenient for travelling out to Kildare, Newbridge and Dublin. Would definitely stay there again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Anne Kelly on Nov 8 2016 12:53

Loved stay at this hotel Daughter got it for dads 60th birthday STaff very friendly and helpful .beautiful spaceous rooms steakhouse ajoining hotel class. Close to all pubs and resteraunts 2 mins walk. drove to slive bloom mountains fab .Will defenitly be back to this hotel Oh Peigs bar brill crack!
 
 
 
 
 

by Elaine Oughton on Nov 7 2016 13:41

Staff were very pleasant throughout the hotel and made our stay very good. We had a triple room and a twin room booked...the triple room was really well decorated as it had been redecorated I believe as part of the renovations. The only issue with this room was that it was really really hot, and the radiators were not on..so we could not figure out how to cool it down. The twin room was not refurbished and the girls who stayed there said it was freezing. Apart from the temperature issues, we had a lovely stay and would highly recommend it.
 
 
 
 
 

by Seamus Bacon on Nov 4 2016 14:07

Having stayed a number of times before it's great to see the renovations being carried out. We stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms and it was fantastic. We are sorry to see Spago's has been closed but a new bar is badly needed. Our only complaint is that there is no warning about the work being carried out in the hotel. We found the noise very intrusive and nearly ruined our first afternoon. We will be checking before booing again. As usual the staff are amazing. Extremely helpful and friendly.
 
 
 
 
 

by Anne Kelly on Nov 2 2016 18:33

Hi my children booked this Hotel for my husbands 60th birthday Omg it was amazing from start to finish 2 other couples stayed as well for celebrations they also loved it .Staff very friendly Beautiful rooms so comfy and big .Food beautiful and steak house belong to hotel amazing Cant fault this hotel in any way right beside bars restraunts and shopping center train station close by .Fab! 5 stars
 
 
 
 
 

by Fiona Benzies on Nov 1 2016 14:05

we had a great weekend, the room was big and spacious, the food was excellent especially the Steak House Restaurant so good and the staff were very friendly overall a great weekend and great value will be back
 
 
 
 
 

by Helena Francis on Oct 25 2016 21:34

We really enjoyed our stay, loved the improvements and the new colour sheme and when everything comes together I'm sure the hotel will attract lots of new visitors. Just one minor issue, the main TV stations RTE 1&2 were not available to us and I'm sure that's easily sorted. Overall the hotel is looking well and has a welcoming athmosphere. Regards.
 
 
 
 
 

by Jackelyn on Oct 24 2016 10:36

We stayed in one of the renovated rooms (131) - The room was lovely, couldn't fault it. We got dinner included in our package, it was just OK.
 
 
 
 
 

by Steve kilsby on Oct 19 2016 21:22

Had a fabulous stay and your Hotel is certainly value for money. I accidentally left a ok behind after checking out and when I contacted your Hotel the lady I spoke with checked lost property and located my notebook and I think she may have gone out of her way to post it to my new hotel in Belfast so that it would reachmeintime before we left for Scotland. I would like to thank her very much. The room was great and breakfast was lovely and we had dinner one night that was delicious. Thank you for a very lovely stay.
 
 
 
 
 

by Pauline on Oct 9 2016 21:07

Fantastic hotel, staff very helpful & friendly, would differently recommend
 
 
 
 
 

by DMcC on Sep 20 2016 18:31

Great service on arrival and car park right next to the hotel. Looks like place has been recently refurbed and rooms are very good, and also very clean. Also had dinner in the newly opened Kellys Steak house across the street and it was brilliant. Overall very good experience and would stay again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Paul McGrath on Sep 18 2016 08:14

We have now stayed here twice, once in 2014 and now August 2016, great hotel, excellentvrooms and fantastic staff, recommend to everyone
 
 
 
 
 

by Anne from Meath on Aug 22 2016 19:55

I had two lovely nights in your hotel. The staff were very friendly . I had one evening meal included in my package and the food was really lovely I had my other meal in your bar and it was also lovely. I would come again to stay there really enjoyed it Anne from Meath .
 
 
 
 
 

by Carmen on Aug 18 2016 16:06

Portlaoise is grand country town and the heritage is right in the centre of it. The hotel was easy to find and the carpark, which is adjacent, posed problem free. The hotel itself is being renovated and is clean and bright, if a little thematic for our tastes (think Grecian painted-on columns). The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful, and this is 90% of hospitality for me. The room was clean and spacious and the pool is excellent. Suggested improvements: extend the 6.30pm pool closure for kids, refurbish the pool changing areas, give a little more thought to the food - it was fine but we make much better at home (I had the salmon. Salmon gorgeous, pasta soggy. And ultimately a very dull dish. The same ingredients could be used to create a much more enjoyable dish... but I get constraints - the price of our stay was hard to beat - absolutely brilliant - so not everything is going to be perfect. I'D HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE HERITAGE!
 
 
 
 
 

by Ger on Aug 17 2016 22:43

As I was in Kildare doing a charity cycle I found ur. hotel very refreshing and the swimming pool was what the doctor ordered. Tks
 
 
 
 
 

by Martina on Aug 17 2016 13:45

Very helpful staff on arrival, beautiful redecorated room, exceptionally comfy bed and food was good in the italian restaurant. Loved our stay.
 
 
 
 
 

by L Daly on Aug 16 2016 09:55

Fabulous hotel, triple room very spacious and nice and quiet! Bar could do with a bit of a facelift though! Staff very friendly and welcoming, would definitely return for another visit.
 
 
 
 
 

by Jacci on Aug 9 2016 09:10

We really enjoyed our stay in your hotel. There were 5 of us so we stayed on the 2nd Floor, room 223 and 224. The decor in the rooms was fabulous and rooms were very spacious. The only issue we had was that the rooms were extremely warm. The windows only opened a small amount and did not provide enough air in a room that contained 3 people (room 224). We attended the spa on the saturday morning and we really enjoyed the massage and facials. The only downside to the spa was that the leisure centre and spa were not connected. We normally book spa weekends on that basis as in being able to walk around the spa and leisure area in dressing gowns and slippers. Maybe something you could invest in, for your hotel because I think a lot of people would book into your hotel as a spa weekend. Hope that our comments are helpful. Thanks Aileen Redmond & Jacci Connaughton
 
 
 
 
 

by Alan on Aug 5 2016 18:36

A lovely hotel with friendly staff.
 
 
 
 
 

by Louise on Aug 3 2016 08:48

Myself and my husband stayed with our children for an overnight recently. We had a fabulous time, the room was very spacious and comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The pool and leisure club were excellent. We ate in the bar, the food took a bit longer than we would have liked (it was very busy), but it was cooked fresh and tasted fantastic. We would definitely be back.
 
 
 
 
 

by Muldoon on Jul 19 2016 12:18

We had a superb stay with yourselves. The room was excellent as it was newly decorated and your hotel once completed will look lovely. We have stayed with you many times over the years since you opened we have never been disappointed. The staff are all friendly and nothing is too much trouble a lovely hotel. Food excellent all in all a lovely break. Will certainly see you all again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Alison on Jul 15 2016 10:54

Very enjoyable stay, hotel is well maintained and staff are very friendly. The pool was a great hit with the kids but a little cold.
 
 
 
 
 

by Carlo Webster on Jul 6 2016 10:44

This is an excellent hotel with awesome leisure facilities, next to train station and the centre of the town. Staff very friendly. Wifi is excellent and the food at breakfast is also very good. Only possible draw back is the lack of air conditioning in each of the rooms as it can get very warm. It is excellent value in a great location with trains leaving for Dublin at 5:30am so it is great for access to Dublin also.
 
 
 
 
 

by EJI on Jun 28 2016 09:45

location good and staff very good. some parts of the hotel are in need of a make over (Breakfast area ) also a bigger space for the serving trays ! We were shown to our table but when we came back from getting our breakfast someone else had been sat there and that happened to a few people, Small things and I would stay there again
 
 
 
 
 

by carlo on Jun 18 2016 12:45

Really enjoyed my stay here. The staff are very friendly from the reception to the bar. Only concern is the lack of climate control.. The room was very hot as the was level 1. Otherwise I hope to stay here again.. great location and a cool hotel
 
 
 
 
 

by Patrick on Jun 17 2016 14:04

Great location right in the centre of town. Staff are exceptional and food is best I have ever had. Lovely atmosphere in hotel ...very friendly. Highly recommend Spago Italian restaurant in the hotel.. Service second to none and steaks are delicious. Rooms are very spacious and spotlessly clean. Highly recommend a visit here and hope to return soon. Thanks
 
 
 
 
 

by Jackie on Jun 7 2016 10:39

Myself my husband and 2 children just spent the weekend in this lovely hotel, I would highly recommend it, the Rooms where spacious and Décor was lovely, we enjoyed a meal in the bar, burger was great :-) they have a great kids swimming pool, children had a great time. I would like to compliment the staff from reception, leisure centre, Bar/Lounge staff and accommodation staff everyone was so helpful and Friendly. I would also like to compliment Aidan the Duty Manager on being so friendly and helpful. But most of all I would like to say a very big Thank You to Killian from the Bar on How quickly he came to our Aid when my 7 year old son Aaron was choking, Killian performed first Aid on my son and Thankfully he is ok, I cant thank Killian enough for all he did for us and even after the incident he came back to see if we were ok... We wont forget you Killian. We will definitely be back to stay in this hotel a great time was had by all the family. Look forward to staying again The Walsh family Jackie, Declan, Aaron and Daniel :-)
 
 
 
 
 

by reviewer74671177 on May 29 2016 09:28

Room was good Breakfast Ok...no Muesli/Alpen ..lots of coco pops/rice krispies which is odd on a business day Took 3 goes in and out to reception to validate parking ticket Each time was given different instructions Bar and bar food very nice Price of €70 very good
 
 
 
 
 

by Michael Grimes on May 14 2016 10:42

This hotel is an unknown gem. I had seen it may times from the train and finally got an opportunity to stay. I use many hotels but this one amazed me. The bedrooms are as good as any five star with everything you could want. The food is excellent. They also have a first class pool and leisure centre.The staff also go out of their way to help. Their prices are half what an equivalent Dublin hotel would fetch and yet there is an hourly train service to Dublin from the station around the corner. This makes it unbeatable value. I highly recommend this hotel as one of the best value hotels anywhere in Ireland and particularly near Dublin.
 
 
 
 
 

by Louise fitzgerald on May 10 2016 09:11

Couldn't fault this hotel, renovations in progress but didn't affect our stay. Two minor complaints 1) when I asked the guy in the pool reception for a second towel for my hair he said "can't we have a towel shortage" and 2) I think that toast should be brought to your table at breakfast. It's a pain to get you breakfast and then queue separately for toast. But overall staff so pleasant and helpful. Would definitely recommend it and will return soon. Thank you Louise
 
 
 
 
 

by Aido White on May 6 2016 10:42

Really enjoyed a recent two night stay in the Hotel. Rooms very clean and a good size. We availed of all the facilities. Spago's serves beautiful Italian food, it was well recommended locally, the pool is a great size and excellently maintained. The bar had entertainment both nights and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We will be back !
 
 
 
 
 

by dympna o hanlon on May 5 2016 07:47

Stayed at the Heritage for 2 night b and b and 1 evening meal beginning of May. This facility is excellent. Staff extremely friendly and food delicious..... The only minor fault I would have would have is when people are still dining at breakfast the staff are taking food away too early - maybe they are just over anxious i.e. while still eating cereals, fruit etc., were taken away but apart from that would highly recommend this place and I will certainly be back !!!
 
 
 
 
 

by G. Brosnan on Apr 30 2016 11:51

Your mid week special is very good value and long may it continue.
 
 
 
 
 

by martin on Apr 26 2016 08:06

the rooms were lovely, spacious and comfortable beds. only issue i had was the shower was not working it was hot one second cold the next, but the bath was great. will definately be staying again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Aine o connor on Apr 25 2016 21:15

Just home after spending 2 nights in the portlaois Heritage , the welcoming friendly efficency staff at reception were excellent and so helpful all through our stay... the hotel was so clean the room we were in 137 was newly refurbished and so beautiful it was delightful .....the breakfast was smashing again lovely staff.... really not a complaint it was fab thanks to you all ......aine 5 star
 
 
 
 
 

by Treasa on Apr 20 2016 15:39

I spent one night in the Heritage hotel as I was in Portlaoise for work. All staff were very helpful. The bedroom was clean and the bed very comfortable. The leisure centre was very good, it would have been nice to stay in later than 6.30 on the Sunday evening. Not especially cheap, but overall good value.
 
 
 
 
 

by Mack on Apr 19 2016 10:36

Lovely hotel. Pleasant staff, lovely food. Excellent Spa and leisure facilities
 
 
 
 
 

by stephen Fogarty on Apr 14 2016 11:46

MY wife and myself had a lovely time staying in the Heritage hotel I could not fault anything about the hotel from the management to the staff all were very friendly and helpful and all made us very welcome. The food and service in the restaurant was excellent and we will be back again soon. Thanking You, Stephen Fogarty.
 
 
 
 
 

by Adrienne Murray on Mar 10 2014 21:56

Stayed in the heritage on Friday 07/03. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. Our meal in Spagos was 5 star quality and the service was excellent. We have stayed in the Heritage on a few occasions and have never been disappointed, We will definitely be returning.
 
 
 
 
 

by Mags on Mar 10 2014 13:54

We really enjoyed our stay and went to see the Jason Byrne show in the hotel which was great. The room was very clean and breakfast was lovely. I would recommend this hotel.
 
 
 
 
 

by TJm on May 26 2013 12:22

1st Class Aidan and Deirdre on reception , a barrel of laughs, check in fine. I asked Deirdre for Fish for Breakfast as my preference , Cod present as requested. Lovely meal in Spago's . Overall excellent stay over and will return shortly.
 
 
 
 
 

by Kate on Feb 19 2013 18:59

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Heritage, Portlaoise. The staff, in particular the staff in Spago s were very friendly. Our B & B and dinner package was excellent value especially considering the quality of our meal in Spagos. We also liked the fact that the hotel is so central to the town. We will definitely be recommending the hotel to family and friends.
 
 
 
 
 

by Patsy on Feb 6 2013 09:38

Enjoyed two night break , food excellent , staff lovely , will defently return .
 
 
 
 
 

by Helen McCabe on Jan 7 2013 10:28

We had a lovely 1 night stay, staff very friendly and helpful. McCabe Family
 
 
 
 
 

by Pat on Jan 1 2013 20:12

Comfortable and very nice surroundings
 
 
 
 
 

by Colette Murray on Dec 9 2012 10:07

I all ways receive a great welcome when I revisit your hotel. I attend the Regional Finals for the Rose of Tralee in Portlaoise every year and always book my accommodation with you in February to insure I get a room. Your staff are polite,kind and well mannered and I always enjoy my stay in the Heritage Hotel. I have recommended your hotel to many of my friends and the feed back I get from them is always very good. Keep up the good work and I will see you in 2013 regards Colette Murray
 
 
 
 
 

by Cathyart on Dec 8 2012 17:58

Warm welcome and great amenities. Would stay again and convenient car parking too
 
 
 
 
 

by Anna Ryan on Dec 6 2012 12:39

We had two twin rooms for a girls night away. We could not fault a thing, the room was spacious and clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. We ate at the Italian restaurant Spago all of us agreed the food and wine was excellent and the staff again very helpful and the service fast and informative. The hotel is very close to shopping centres with a many of the main retail shops there. I would recommend this hotel to my friends, we did have to pay a small charge for parking but( was free between 6pm and 10am ) we didn't mind. Thanks again to all the staff a great stay.
 
 
 
 
 

by EH on Nov 27 2012 13:00

We stayed at the Portlaoise Heritage for one night last weekend. The facilities were excellent. Pool is a great size and the jacuzzis, sauna and steamroom suited our needs exactly. We ate in the italian Spago's. There was an initial mixup with our reservation but it was sorted without too much fuss and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. We had just a main and dessert and both exceeded our expectations. The staff were friendly and we didn't feel rushed at all. The bedroom was perfect and although situated at by the lift lobby on the third floor, it was quiet and we enjoyed a full night's sleep. Breakfast was lovely. Plenty of food to choose from and again, great service. All staff that we came in contact with were courteous and professional. We would recommend the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel to all our friends and family. Thanks for a lovely break
 
 
 
 
 
Powered by LouderVoice Reviews and LouderYou Ireland