Make a Reservation
View More

Reviews

Read Reviews (80)
(
4.45/5
) based on
80
reviews.

by carlo on Jun 18 2016 12:45

Really enjoyed my stay here. The staff are very friendly from the reception to the bar. Only concern is the lack of climate control.. The room was very hot as the was level 1. Otherwise I hope to stay here again.. great location and a cool hotel
 
 
 
 
 

by Patrick on Jun 17 2016 14:04

Great location right in the centre of town. Staff are exceptional and food is best I have ever had. Lovely atmosphere in hotel ...very friendly. Highly recommend Spago Italian restaurant in the hotel.. Service second to none and steaks are delicious. Rooms are very spacious and spotlessly clean. Highly recommend a visit here and hope to return soon. Thanks
 
 
 
 
 

by Jackie on Jun 7 2016 10:39

Myself my husband and 2 children just spent the weekend in this lovely hotel, I would highly recommend it, the Rooms where spacious and Décor was lovely, we enjoyed a meal in the bar, burger was great :-) they have a great kids swimming pool, children had a great time. I would like to compliment the staff from reception, leisure centre, Bar/Lounge staff and accommodation staff everyone was so helpful and Friendly. I would also like to compliment Aidan the Duty Manager on being so friendly and helpful. But most of all I would like to say a very big Thank You to Killian from the Bar on How quickly he came to our Aid when my 7 year old son Aaron was choking, Killian performed first Aid on my son and Thankfully he is ok, I cant thank Killian enough for all he did for us and even after the incident he came back to see if we were ok... We wont forget you Killian. We will definitely be back to stay in this hotel a great time was had by all the family. Look forward to staying again The Walsh family Jackie, Declan, Aaron and Daniel :-)
 
 
 
 
 

by Louise fitzgerald on May 10 2016 09:11

Couldn't fault this hotel, renovations in progress but didn't affect our stay. Two minor complaints 1) when I asked the guy in the pool reception for a second towel for my hair he said "can't we have a towel shortage" and 2) I think that toast should be brought to your table at breakfast. It's a pain to get you breakfast and then queue separately for toast. But overall staff so pleasant and helpful. Would definitely recommend it and will return soon. Thank you Louise
 
 
 
 
 

by Aido White on May 6 2016 10:42

Really enjoyed a recent two night stay in the Hotel. Rooms very clean and a good size. We availed of all the facilities. Spago's serves beautiful Italian food, it was well recommended locally, the pool is a great size and excellently maintained. The bar had entertainment both nights and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We will be back !
 
 
 
 
 

by G. Brosnan on Apr 30 2016 11:51

Your mid week special is very good value and long may it continue.
 
 
 
 
 

by Aine o connor on Apr 25 2016 21:15

Just home after spending 2 nights in the portlaois Heritage , the welcoming friendly efficency staff at reception were excellent and so helpful all through our stay... the hotel was so clean the room we were in 137 was newly refurbished and so beautiful it was delightful .....the breakfast was smashing again lovely staff.... really not a complaint it was fab thanks to you all ......aine 5 star
 
 
 
 
 

by Treasa on Apr 20 2016 15:39

I spent one night in the Heritage hotel as I was in Portlaoise for work. All staff were very helpful. The bedroom was clean and the bed very comfortable. The leisure centre was very good, it would have been nice to stay in later than 6.30 on the Sunday evening. Not especially cheap, but overall good value.
 
 
 
 
 

by Mack on Apr 19 2016 10:36

Lovely hotel. Pleasant staff, lovely food. Excellent Spa and leisure facilities
 
 
 
 
 

by stephen Fogarty on Apr 14 2016 11:46

MY wife and myself had a lovely time staying in the Heritage hotel I could not fault anything about the hotel from the management to the staff all were very friendly and helpful and all made us very welcome. The food and service in the restaurant was excellent and we will be back again soon. Thanking You, Stephen Fogarty.
 
 
 
 
 

by TJm on May 26 2013 12:22

1st Class Aidan and Deirdre on reception , a barrel of laughs, check in fine. I asked Deirdre for Fish for Breakfast as my preference , Cod present as requested. Lovely meal in Spago's . Overall excellent stay over and will return shortly.
 
 
 
 
 

by Kate on Feb 19 2013 18:59

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Heritage, Portlaoise. The staff, in particular the staff in Spago s were very friendly. Our B & B and dinner package was excellent value especially considering the quality of our meal in Spagos. We also liked the fact that the hotel is so central to the town. We will definitely be recommending the hotel to family and friends.
 
 
 
 
 

by Patsy on Feb 6 2013 09:38

Enjoyed two night break , food excellent , staff lovely , will defently return .
 
 
 
 
 

by Helen McCabe on Jan 7 2013 10:28

We had a lovely 1 night stay, staff very friendly and helpful. McCabe Family
 
 
 
 
 

by Pat on Jan 1 2013 20:12

Comfortable and very nice surroundings
 
 
 
 
 

by Colette Murray on Dec 9 2012 10:07

I all ways receive a great welcome when I revisit your hotel. I attend the Regional Finals for the Rose of Tralee in Portlaoise every year and always book my accommodation with you in February to insure I get a room. Your staff are polite,kind and well mannered and I always enjoy my stay in the Heritage Hotel. I have recommended your hotel to many of my friends and the feed back I get from them is always very good. Keep up the good work and I will see you in 2013 regards Colette Murray
 
 
 
 
 

by Cathyart on Dec 8 2012 17:58

Warm welcome and great amenities. Would stay again and convenient car parking too
 
 
 
 
 

by Anna Ryan on Dec 6 2012 12:39

We had two twin rooms for a girls night away. We could not fault a thing, the room was spacious and clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. We ate at the Italian restaurant Spago all of us agreed the food and wine was excellent and the staff again very helpful and the service fast and informative. The hotel is very close to shopping centres with a many of the main retail shops there. I would recommend this hotel to my friends, we did have to pay a small charge for parking but( was free between 6pm and 10am ) we didn't mind. Thanks again to all the staff a great stay.
 
 
 
 
 

by EH on Nov 27 2012 13:00

We stayed at the Portlaoise Heritage for one night last weekend. The facilities were excellent. Pool is a great size and the jacuzzis, sauna and steamroom suited our needs exactly. We ate in the italian Spago's. There was an initial mixup with our reservation but it was sorted without too much fuss and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. We had just a main and dessert and both exceeded our expectations. The staff were friendly and we didn't feel rushed at all. The bedroom was perfect and although situated at by the lift lobby on the third floor, it was quiet and we enjoyed a full night's sleep. Breakfast was lovely. Plenty of food to choose from and again, great service. All staff that we came in contact with were courteous and professional. We would recommend the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel to all our friends and family. Thanks for a lovely break
 
 
 
 
 

by Thomas Magner on Nov 5 2012 20:55

Found the check in lady most helpful, always a good start. Room excellent , nice touch bottle of ballygowan. Austin pulls a good pint in the bar and enjoyed steaks in Kellys even if service a little slow. Will return
 
 
 
 
 

by Margaret Sheridan on Oct 31 2012 09:04

Spacious bedroom and bathroom, great food and very friendly staff. A terrific hotel in a very central location. Luxury and indulgence at a very affordable price. I would highly recommend this hotel.
 
 
 
 
 

by Karen on Oct 29 2012 11:02

Most enjoyable, Spagos food delightful. Staff very welcoming and friendly. Looking forward to another stay
 
 
 
 
 

by terence on Oct 25 2012 13:12

Hotel was perfect, had everything we needed. Service was very good and for the most part friendly. Location is ideal. Just parked the car and walked. We would stay again and would recommend to others.
 
 
 
 
 

by Dymps on Oct 23 2012 09:52

Had a great stay hotel was lovely and staff were very pleasant. would recommend to all.
 
 
 
 
 

by S Falvey on Oct 21 2012 10:15

We enjoyed our stay immensely and we have no complaints to make. S Falvey
 
 
 
 
 

by yvonne on Oct 15 2012 10:36

lovely friendly staff, meal was delicious in the grillhouse and room was nice and cosy. sorry i couldnt stay longer.
 
 
 
 
 

by reviewer97418640 on Oct 14 2012 16:37

Very enjoyable stay at the Heritage. Service excellent. Recommended. Food and service at the Foundry excellent
 
 
 
 
 

by Mark Lochrin on Oct 9 2012 13:52

We loved it. Everyone very obliging, great service, lovely room. We would recommend it to anyone.
 
 
 
 
 

by reviewer41716395 on Oct 9 2012 09:48

I spent a weekend in the hotel with 3 friends on a girly spa package deal. The food was v good (both Spago and Steakhouse), the spa treatments were lovely but there was a bit of a mix up with our confirmed times and we were lounging in the pool when we should've been in the spa for a balneotherapy treatment. The treatments were lovely but unfortunately we couldn't avail of the balneotherapy as the hot water to it wasn't working so we had a nail file and polish instead which was lovely. When I booked the deal it mentioned complimentary wine in the rooms (and the receptionist has confirmed this at the time) but there was no sign of that so I'm not sure whether we were supposed to get that or not. All in all a good weekend and good value.
 
 
 
 
 

by Peggie on Oct 7 2012 17:31

great hotel staff very friendly efficient and courteous. leisure club second to none.Will defintely return Margaret
 
 
 
 
 

by mlhawe on Oct 7 2012 14:43

We really enjoyed our stay at the Heritage Hotel in Portlaoise. The reception desk staff were friendly and helpful. It was the last evening of the Ryder Cup and the atmosphere was enhanced by the enthusiasm of the bar staff. The room was excellent. The only negative was when we presented a voucher from the hotel room folder for burger offer and the voucher for the bottle of wine at Kelly's. We waited for over half an hour for the burgers and when the wine hadn't arrived at that point we had the voucher returned as we wanted to see the Ryder Cup coverage. We had asked again for the wine in the meantime but it still hadn't come. This annoyance could have been avoided if we were told that the burgers would be delayed and we had our drink in the meantime.
 
 
 
 
 

by Ms Keany on Oct 2 2012 13:55

Just back after a 3 day break in this lovely hotel.The location is great as it is very central to shops and restaurants.The staff were friendly and helpful .We will definitely be back.
 
 
 
 
 

by ignatius on Oct 1 2012 14:59

I picked this hotel from advent on airtel and booked right away, we are so glad that we did. I already filled a questaire before leaving the hotel in Portlaoise as to how impressed we where of our stay. Because of the warmest welcome that awaits you on your arrival. From the Reception Staff to Cleaning Staff , Dining Staff specially Adrian, he had a warm weclome for us each evening when we entered the restaurant, pointing out places of interest in the area and anxious to listen as to how we got on. The food was excellant great variety both for Breakfast,Lunch, and evening meals. There is a friendliness in the bars you can enjoy a chat with bar staff and Locals. Rooms are spacious and stylishly furnished. The location is an ideal base from which you can travel around and take in the sights and places of interest. Carparking was brillant adjacent next door to hotel We will hope to return once again to Dalata Hotel Group maybe try a diffient Location next time. Many thanks to all. Without a question 5*
 
 
 
 
 

by MARK on Sep 29 2012 21:55

REALLY ENJOYED OUR STAY,THE STAFF WERE GREAT, THE FOOD EXCELLENT, WE WILL BE BACK XX MARK.
 
 
 
 
 

by Frances Bridgette on Sep 28 2012 22:51

Good Evening. Stayed at your Hotel for 2 Nights... Bedrooms very roomy and breakfast was very laid out and plentiful... Very helpful staff. Be back again. Many thanks
 
 
 
 
 

by Brian Brannelly on Sep 28 2012 09:34

we had a lovely stay at the heriage and we were very happpy indeed staff allover were very nice and meals were very good it was a lovely mid week break ..one small thing my partner booked some treatments in the beauty spa on the thurs but girl to do this treatment failed to show up at the appointment time the girl on reception done a massage for her but it was not what she booked so she was not too happy.....in all had a lovely break thanking you....brian brannelly...
 
 
 
 
 

by reviewer42773423 on Sep 25 2012 21:44

Great hotel ;very nice staff .Everything was top class will stay again.
 
 
 
 
 

by R.C on Sep 15 2012 10:01

We had a really enjoyable stay. Our room was very comfortable and we had delicious meals in the Spago restaurant.. The staff were very friendly and the hotel has a lovely atmosphere.
 
 
 
 
 

by Orla Moore on Sep 13 2012 13:43

Great central location. Beautiful Italian restaurant, so good we ate their both nights. Very child friendly hotel making for a very enjoyable stay. Excellent leisure facilities. On the negative side, rooms quite basic and could be a bit cleaner. Overall a nice relaxing break away!!
 
 
 
 
 

by john on Sep 10 2012 10:47

the hotel was excellent and the building finished to a very high quality. Leisure Centre and pool were alo excellent. staff very frienly and helpful and the food was very good. we have onlly one small complaint, our room was too warm and stuffy, no fresh air circulating and the area when you got out of lift was very stuffy. would definately stay again. many thanks
 
 
 
 
 

by Angela on Sep 2 2012 16:54

Thank you for a wonderful 3 night break in your hotel and for the beautiful breakfasts each morning. We also enjoyed our fantastic meal in Kelly's foundry restaurant and in spagos Italian restaurant. We were so surprised at the spacious bedroom with seating area and beautiful bathroom as we did not expect such luxury at such a low cost. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and parking was easy and convenient . we had our five month old baby boy with us and the many seating areas and great space allowed freedom of movement with buggy and baby. we enjoyed a lovely snack in the coffee bar which we found was a nice addition to any hotel as it meant not having to leave the hotel in search of coffee shops!! All in all a very clean, spacious, friendly and well equip hotel which we would highly recommend to anyone. We will be Back!!!!
 
 
 
 
 

by wayne on Sep 2 2012 13:37

Enjoyed our stay, great value, all the staff we spoke or dealt with are a credit to this hotel....
 
 
 
 
 

by Jean on Sep 2 2012 10:13

We had a great stay - staff very friendly. The only negative was that the hotel landings were very overheated.
 
 
 
 
 

by Anthony Butler on Aug 27 2012 19:10

The weekend was better than i had anticipated, the restaurant's were different and the food was great value for the price. The maitre d' was excellent as were all the staff. We will definitely return when the weather is better.
 
 
 
 
 

by geo on Aug 27 2012 09:17

Excellent facility, a ccomodations and food
 
 
 
 
 

by laura cowman on Aug 26 2012 15:16

Had a great stay.room was spacious even for the 5 of us.clean and towels were changed everyday.reception staff were efficient and very helpful.the pool was excellent.the breakfast was delicious and had a vry good variety.all in all we had a great time and would recommend your hotel to everybody
 
 
 
 
 

by Emma on Aug 25 2012 16:54

Really enjoyed our stay, the staff were lovely and friendly, will be returning
 
 
 
 
 

by eileen on Aug 24 2012 20:12

I was there with my husband for a romantic mid week stay. Had great time, staff were very friendly and helpful, bed room was clean and quiet, food was good, reception area was nice and comfortable for reading. Dining area was nice and food was good, plenty of healthy options for breakfast. Swimming pool and spa was nice, think it was one of the nicest pool in a hotel that we have seen. Would have liked to use it after 12pm when we were checked out but told we couldn’t because of insurance reasons , would have liked if this was explained when we checked in as we were looking forward to using the pool before we left. Over all we really enjoyed our stay
 
 
 
 
 

by reviewer35181095 on Aug 20 2012 11:49

Thank you very much for a very enjoyable stay. Our room was fabulous and all of the staff were most helpfull and very friendly. We will be back and would certainly recommend you to everyone Elsa and John Foley
 
 
 
 
 

by Selina on Aug 17 2012 13:18

Lovely hotel, great staff and fabulous facilities. Would recommend to everyone xxx
 
 
 
 
 
Powered by LouderVoice Reviews and LouderYou Ireland